New sounds & Mendelssohn

Stage 1, Sara kulturhus, Skellefteå


325 kr
Price including service fee.
Show all prices

Thrilling orchestral sounds blend with saxophone-played waltzes and Mendelssohn's beautiful Symphony No. 5. The Norrlandsoperan Symphony Orchestra, led by conductor Roland Kluttig and featuring soloist Johannes Thorell, presents music born out of love for both nature and culture.

A lone violin introduces Albert Schnelzer's "Through the Eye of the Pegasus" – an orchestral piece composed for the 40th anniversary of the reopening of the Alte Oper Frankfurt. The composition is a tribute to all those who work in culture and help us remember our history.

Tebogo Monnagkotla from Uppsala explores the perspective of animals in his saxophone concerto, "Gaea" (Mother Earth). The concerto is composed specifically for tonight's soloist, saxophonist Johannes Thorell. Here, we hear him draw inspiration from the sounds of both whales and fleeing birds.

Felix Mendelssohn made his first journey to the British Isles in 1829. The following year, he composed his indescribably beautiful Symphony No. 5, titled "Reformation." The piece did not enjoy success during the composer's lifetime but has since become a beloved treasure in our musical history.

Enjoy the evening!

Read more about tonight's program here


Roland Kluttig, conductor
Johannes Thorell, saxophone
Norrlandsoperans Symfoniorkester


Albert Schnelzer, Through the Eye of the Pegasus, 11 min
Tebogo Monnagkotla, Gaea, for saxofon and orchester, 25 min
Pause, 30 min
Felix Mendelsohn, Symfoni No. 5, 27 min


Good to know before your visit:

Age limit: none.
Bag ban: applies to events in Stage 1 and Stage 2, read more here.
Wardrob: is mandatory for bags and jackets. The cloakroom i located adjacent to the stage for the event and the fee is included in your ticket.
Admission: approx. 30 minutes before the event starts.
Eating: Food and drink are not allowed to be brought into our stages.
Hearing aids: available in all our scenes, read mor here.
Note that the concert is not microphone-enhanced, but that hearing aids work as usual during introductions and speeches.
Rollator: placed outside the entrance, staff on site are available if you need help.
Lift: located at stairwell B, left side.
Wheelchair spaces: All wheelchair spaces are accessible via elevator, stairwell B, left side. Please respect that wheelchair spaces are intended for wheelchair users. In case of violation, the ticket will be declared invalid on the spot and entry to the event will be denied. Tickets cannot be repurchased in the event of an incorrect purchase.


Craving for a lovely mingling before the concert?

Before the concert, The Wood Hotel by Elite serves drinks and light snacks in the South foyer. Serving opens 45 minutes before the concert begins.



Does your heart beat a little extra for classical music?

Then you have the opportunity to sign a concert subscription at Sara cultural center. With a concert subscription, you get four concerts where you get to hear Norrlandsoperan's symphony orchestra play both classical and newly written pieces together with invited soloists and conductors, all at a discounted price!

Read more about our subscription

Book online
17May 19:00 - 20:45 Stage 1, Sara kulturhus

Contact information

Kanalgatan 43B
93131 Skellefteå
Phone: +46-910736000

Organizer: Sara kulturhus och Norrlandsoperan

E-mail: biljettinformation@sarakult...

More from Stage 1, Sara kulturhus


Price information

Concert ticket: SEK 325


Tickets are sold at, Skellefteå Tourist Center and on the organizer's official booking page.

For more information about tickets tel. + 46 (0)910-452510 or

ATTENTION! There is no reservation of tickets, only direct purchase.


Age limit: none

Duration: 1 hour, 45 minutes incl. 30 minutes pause.